Townships, Officials Receive Governor’s Awards for Excellence  

Yesterday, Lt. Governor Austin Davis, who Chairs the Governor’s Local Government Advisory Committee, opened the recognition ceremony for municipalities and local government officials commending them for their dedication and commitment to strengthen their communities and better serve their residents.  

“The important work done by local officials across our commonwealth has the power to impact Pennsylvania families every day,” Davis offered on behalf of Gov. Josh Shapiro. “Each of this year’s recipients has shown exceptional dedication to improving public services through innovative initiatives and a continued focus on getting things done for their communities. The individuals, municipalities, organizations, and counties being recognized today represent the best of us, and public service is not just what they do – it’s who they are.” 

Fifteen communities, five organizations, and eight individuals from across the commonwealth were recognized for excellent service as part of the 27th Annual Governor’s Awards for Local Government Excellence, which are presented each year on Local Government Day.  

Congratulations to the following township awardees! Click here to learn more.  

  • Jack M. Hines, Jr., Township Supervisor, West Bradford township, Chester County, (nominated by PSATS
  • Concord Township and Newlin Grist Mill, Delaware County: Building Community Partnerships 
  • Washington Township, Greene County: Building Community Partnerships 
  • West Goshen Township, Chester County: Health and Wellness Initiatives 
  • Westtown Township Board of Supervisors, Chester County: Health and Wellness Initiatives 
  • Douglass Township, Montgomery County, Board of Supervisors: Innovative Community/Governmental Initiatives 
  • Southwest Butler Stormwater Planning Group: Innovative Planning and Sound Land Use Practices 
  • Gilpin Township and Freeport Borough, Armstrong County: Intergovernmental Cooperation 
  • Merel “Jim” Swingle, Township Supervisor, Salem Township, Wayne County: Municipal Leadership 
Scroll to Top