News Release: Governor to Speak at Township Conference

Township Conference Features Corbett, Cawley, and Other State Officials


April 15, 2013

Contact: Ginni Linn
Director of Communications
(717) 763-0930 (through April 19)
(717) 805-3588 (April 20-24; cell phone)

Gov. Tom Corbett, Lt. Gov. Jim Cawley, state Sen. John Eichelberger, Pennsylvania State Police Commissioner Col. Frank Noonan, and the state Senate and House Transportation Committee leaders are among the speakers scheduled to address more than 3,000 elected and appointed township officials at the 91st Annual Educational Conference and Trade Show of the Pennsylvania State Association of Township Supervisors April 21-24 at the Hershey Lodge.

Township officials from across the state will meet in Hershey these four days to share how to run their municipalities more efficiently and cost-effectively, listen to speakers discuss topics that affect townships, and adopt resolutions that will guide the association in its legislative endeavors in Harrisburg.

Since the Association’s authorization by the legislature in 1921, PSATS’ member townships have convened once a year at an annual conference to receive training, elect officers, and establish Association policy.

A rundown of the four-day event follows:

Sunday, April 21

  • Noon-5 p.m. — The PSATS Trade Show will open. Over 2½ days, close to 300 indoor and outdoor exhibitors will display their services and products to township officials in the largest municipal trade show in Pennsylvania.
  • Note: Sunday afternoon is a good time for the news media to interview township officials, take photographs, and shoot news footage as township officials talk to exhibitors about new products and services that could benefit their community.

Monday, April 22

  • 8:40 a.m. — The general session will begin with welcoming remarks by Gov. Tom Corbett.
  • 9:05 a.m. — PSATS President Les Houck, a supervisor for Salisbury Township in Lancaster County, will give the president’s report to the delegates.
  • 9:15 a.m. — PSATS Executive Director David M. Sanko will speak.
  • 9:45 a.m. — PennDOT Deputy Secretary for Planning James Ritzman will speak about transportation partnerships.
  • 10:00 a.m. — Sen. John Eichelberger, chairman of the Senate Local Government Committee, will speak about unfunded mandates.
  • 10:30 a.m. — Township officials will choose from among 15 workshops on such topics as the natural gas impact fee law, compressed natural gas fuel, lessons to be learned from the Penn State scandal, and stormwater management.
  • 1:15-4 p.m. — Township officials will choose from among dozens of workshops on such topics as labor and employment law, managing conflict and public issues, the Right-to-Know Law, neighborhood traffic management, managing local bridge assets, economic development, environmental issues, government access cable channels, and working with fire and emergency services companies.
  • 5-6:30 p.m. — Delegates and guests will travel to the state Capitol complex for the association’s Annual Legislative Reception, townships’ largest grassroots advocacy event of the year. Township officials will meet with state legislators in the Commonwealth Keystone Building.

Tuesday, April 23

  • 8:45 a.m. — The general session will begin with remarks by State Police Commissioner Col. Frank Noonan and a special tribute to Pennsylvania law enforcement officers who died in the line of duty.
  • 9:00 a.m. — Lt. Gov. Jim Cawley will speak.
  • 9:20 a.m. — The Association will present its Excellence in Intergovernmental Cooperation Award to Union, Robeson, and Caernarvon townships in Berks County.
  • 9:30 a.m. — U.S. Congressman Bill Shuster will speak to the delegates on the topic of transportation.
  • 9:55 a.m. — Delegates will hear committee reports and elect officers.
  • 10:40 a.m. — The Association will present its Outstanding Citizen Communication Award to Moon Township in Allegheny County.
  • 10:50 a.m. — The Association will present its Founder’s Award, which was last given in 2008. This is the Association’s highest honor, presented to those whose outstanding efforts
  • have benefited Pennsylvania townships. It is given only when someone is truly deserving of the distinction.
  • 11:10 a.m. — Delegates will vote on resolutions that will set policy for the Association.
  • 1:15-4 p.m. — Township officials will choose from among dozens of workshops on such topics as transportation impact fees, constituent communications in the digital age, sustainable parks, media relations for municipal officials, petrochemical industry impacts on townships, road repair and maintenance, contract negotiations and arbitrations, debt collection, working with fire departments, developing trails, and stream dredging.

Wednesday, April 24

  • 8:50 a.m. — A forum on transportation funding will feature Sen. John Rafferty and Sen. John Wozniak, the majority and minority chairs of the Senate Transportation Committee, respectively, and Rep. Dick Hess and Rep. Michael McGeehan, the Republican and Democratic chairs of the House Transportation Committee, respectively. The panelists will respond to questions submitted by delegates during the previous two days. Lt. Gov. Jim Cawley will act as moderator.
  • 10:00 a.m. — PennDOT and the Pennsylvania Highway Information Association will present the Road and Bridge Safety Improvement Awards to South Manheim Township, Schuylkill County (winner), Farmington Township, Clarion County (first runner up), and Doylestown Township, Bucks County (second runner up).
  • 10:10 a.m. — PSATS will present its annual President’s Leadership Awards to: 1) a township supervisor and 2) a manager or secretary.
  • 10:35 a.m. — Delegates will hear from keynote speaker Dave Horsager.
  • 11:55 a.m. — PSATS President Les Houck will adjourn the conference.

The Pennsylvania State Association of Township Supervisors represents Pennsylvania’s 1,455 townships of the second class and is committed to preserving and strengthening township government and securing greater visibility and involvement for townships in the state and federal political arenas. Townships of the second class cover 95 percent of Pennsylvania’s land mass and represent more residents — 5.5 million — than any other type of political subdivision in the commonwealth.

Note: Join the Annual Conference conversation at #psats2013 or follow PSATS on Facebook and Twitter.

# # #