Latest News

FEMA Briefings Offer Funding Info for Counties Affected by Hurricane Sandy

Thursday January 17th, 2013

Federal disaster aid has been made available to 17 Pennsylvania counties affected by Hurricane Sandy from Oct. 26 to Nov. 8, 2012. They are:

  • Bedford, Bucks, Cameron, Dauphin, Forest, Franklin, Fulton, Huntingdon, Juniata, Montgomery, Monroe, Northampton, Pike, Potter, Somerset, Sullivan, and Wyoming counties. 

County and local governments, authorities, school districts, private nonprofits, private nonprofit fire departments, and private nonprofit rural electric cooperatives are eligible for assistance. All categories of assistance (Categories A through G) are included for these counties.

Assistance includes emergency work for debris removal and emergency protective measures and permanent work for the repair or replacement of disaster damaged facilities.

Declared counties should have already identified potential eligible emergency work and disaster damages while performing their initial and preliminary damage assessments.

Additions to the declaration

Pennsylvania has reserved the right to request additional counties be added as results of further damage assessments. PEMA is currently working with the remaining 50 counties to determine their eligibility in the future.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for all counties in Pennsylvania.

Important information on briefings, supporting documentation

Click here for a schedule of FEMA briefings about the available funding to be held beginning Jan. 22 in the affected counties.

Click here for details on information your township will need to support any reported costs from Hurricane Sandy. You should be prepared to bring this information with you to the FEMA briefings noted above.