Latest News

Legislators Return to Harrisburg for Caucus Elections

Friday November 16th, 2012

Legislators returned to Harrisburg during the week of Nov. 12 to conduct caucus elections and to allow retiring members to give farewell speeches. Following are the results of the caucus leadership elections for the 2013-2014 legislative session.

For the House Republicans, Rep. Sam Smith from Jefferson County was re-elected as the caucus designee for Speaker of the House, and the rest of the leadership team remained the same.

The House Democrats elected largely the same leadership team as for the current session, with Rep. Ron Waters from Philadelphia County elected as Caucus Secretary and Rep. Neal Goodman from Schuylkill County elected as Caucus Administrator to fill positions that were vacant due to retirements. For more on the House elections, click here for a Morning Call article.

For the Senate Republicans, Sen. Joe Scarnati from Jefferson County was re-elected as the caucus designee for President Pro Temp. Senate Majority Leader Dominic Pileggi from Delaware County and Majority Appropriations Chairman Jake Corman from Centre County were re-elected to their leadership posts. The rest of Senate Republican leadership remains the same.

The Senate Democrats re-elected Sen. Jay Costa from Allegheny County as Minority Leader and Sen. Vincent Hughes from Philadelphia as Senate Democratic Appropriations Committee Chairman. The rest of the Senate Democrat leadership team will also remain the same.

Newly elected legislators will return to Harrisburg on January 1, 2013 to be sworn in and begin the new 2013-2014 legislative session.